Seized By Christ

I was reading Philippians in the Modern English Version (MEV) and was really struck by the wording of chapter 3, verse 12: “Not that I have already attained or have been perfected, but I follow it so that I may lay hold of that for which I was seized by Christ Jesus.” I stopped at that last phrase: Seized by Christ Jesus. (καταλαμβάνω here being translated as “seized.) 

This is literally what happened to me. I was the lonely vagabond, wandering in the wasteland, and then Christ Jesus came to me and literally seized me. And so now I press on and follow Him that I may lay hold of that which He has in store for me … that for which He seized me! Such a powerful phrase …. such a powerful concept, for if He has seized me, then who can wrest me from His grip? Have you been seized by Christ Jesus?

Have a most blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Seized By Christ

Leave a Reply

