In You, Not Two

Closer than my breath, nearer than my whisper-prayer,
You are here, grim darkness and death cannot compare
To the sheer power of Your fair presence in resonance
With my soul as Your all-seeing eye spies every snare
Laid with such insidious care by the enemy to catch me
Unaware, but You’re there ahead of me already to steady
My footsteps, gently guiding me round every pit by staff
And sound of Your voice, so the road fraught with danger
Becomes my pleasure to travel, and the gravel beneath
Only toughens my feet as I march on to steady drumbeat
Of the heavenlies with You in me and I in You, not two
But One…

Leave a Reply

