Press On to the Morning Dawn

My heart is filled with an hope and wide scope of dreams unfulfilled,
And my soul hears the cry, ‘Press on, press on to the morning dawn!’
But there is a whole world inside my self ready to burst forth or die,
And try as I may I cannot hold my visionary urges at bay, so I shout
And say, ‘Now or never! This cannot all wait till the ever hereafter!’
And yet I hear the soft strong Voice, ‘Press on to the morning dawn.’
But it’s night and my plight grows with yearning without learning,
So I crouch in doubt and have my bout with fear that I’ll never be
What I’m meant to be for all to see, even as I bend my knee and pray
To see the light of day to find my way out of the fray of confusion,
Yet again come the words, ‘Press on, press on to the morning dawn!’
But when will come this dawn like newborn fawn full of living life
Ready for discovering this new-old world, uncovering all its secrets,
Learning to leap in exaltation, to keep inspiration in anticipation
Of all that is good and right, beautiful and bright in unsullied sight
Of eyes freshly opened to a wondrous creation without hesitation?
Ah! Do I see shimmering gold on far horizon, glimmering promise
Of the rising Son as I press on and press on toward morning dawn?
And now shall hope be realized and wide scope of dreams fulfilled?
‘Press on, press on to the morning dawn!’

Leave a Reply

