From the Hand of the Enemy, the Wicked

Do not turn my heart to any evil, to busy myself with wicked deeds in company with those who work iniquity; do not let me eat of their delicacies. Let the righteous strike me; let the faithful correct me, (but) never let the oil of the wicked anoint my head… (Psalm 141. 4-5a, NRSV, emphasis mine)

“If you accept what gift the Enemy offers, then you yourself will end up in his coffers.” This line, in slightly altered form, came to me in the middle of my writing the poem, “Desertion and Defeat.” I believe it was no accident, as this simple rhythmic line expresses an important truth: If in any way, shape or form you accept “gifts” offered by the Adversary (or any of his minions), even if and when offered by the physical hand of someone (physical person), as is often the case, then you put yourself in debt, or under some kind of obligation, to the Enemy. In other words, the “gift” always comes with strings attached … besides which, it is poisonous, ruinous, and deadly.

This may seem like an obvious truth, but evidently for some it is not so apparent. I personally know of a situation, which actually inspired the poem, in which a loved one and I fervently prayed, completely dedicating ourselves (and very specifically her life) and her entire home and land completely to God. And I mean we got down to the nitty-gritty, asking the Spirit of the Lord to inhabit every nook and cranny! We then followed this by praying against strongholds in the home, very specifically focusing on one – hmmm, how shall I put it – “vehicle of wickedness.” We ended by confidently, passionately declaring Christ Jesus Lord and Master of the home.

After this evening prayer, however, this loved one quite literally accepted an offered “gift” from the Enemy, via the aforementioned “vehicle of wickedness.” (You will have to please excuse me for not going into more detail; I simply don’t feel comfortable doing so at this point.) She did this not once but several times after our evening dedication and declaration. Let me be clear: Something bad and harmful was offered – something she had determined not to accept anymore – and she took it … more than once. When I found out I was quite literally hurt and bewildered. You see, not only had she hurt herself physiologically and psychologically; she had damaged herself spiritually.

She weakened herself and essentially, in accepting what was offered, decided that this “vehicle of wickedness” was welcome to remain in her household. And so now, despite our dedication and declaration, she stands in a compromised position … just like an Army soldier accepting a gift from an enemy combatant. And really, this is an appropriate analogy when you think about it. I mean, how effective would it be if you could get enemy soldiers to begin accepting certain goods they really like and want? Would that not (at least potentially) compromise them in their war with you? In fact, this is a good way to keep another country under wraps: Supply them with their wants and needs, especially what they cannot otherwise procure for themselves.

I hope and pray you see the important implications of all this. In a very real sense, the Adversary still has a hold on my loved one and, in and through his “vehicle of wickedness,” still exercises a certain amount of authority in the home. Because of my loved one’s capitulation and compromise, she is unable to exercise her full authority in Christ and, by the way, this “vehicle of wickedness” maintains as much authority in the home as ever before. Sadly … tragically, my loved one has never mentioned again, even once, the dedication and declaration we made; it is as if it simply never happened, although she tries to nonchalantly carry on as if all is well.

Okay, so what is the result of all this … in reality? Continued pain, suffering, misery, “heaviness” in the atmosphere, darkness … oppression. And to tell the truth, at this point I don’t know what to do except to continue praying (and I have many other praying, too.) But there is an important message here for those of you reading, and it is the point with which we began: If you accept what gift the Enemy offers, then you yourself will end up in his coffers. Period. So far as our unseen enemies are concerned, then, we should say with the Psalmist, “Do not let me eat of their delicacies (and) never let the oil of the wicked anoint my head.” No capitulation. No compromise. It’s not worth it, believe me!

9 thoughts on “From the Hand of the Enemy, the Wicked

Leave a Reply

