In the Morning without Mourning

Before anything else creeps in and I begin the new day,
Even with heaviness in my chest after the night’s rest,
With feelings of doubt and fear lurking near my heart,
And part of me still asleep, heavy-sad tears in my eyes
As if I’ve said ‘good-bye,’ and I breathe a crippling sigh,
Not knowing why my soul is sad, and why I feel so bad;
O God! Before I lift this body out of bed and try to sift
Through these sunrise feelings that peel away my spirit,
I want to praise You! To bring myself to You and sing!
With voice of my adoration in complete consecration,
With choice to love and draw near Your throne of grace,
With broken images of dreams flowing away, I worship;
Even with forlorn screams inside my head, I will praise;
I want to praise You! To bring myself to You and sing!
Not knowing why my soul is sad, and why I feel so bad,
My God! I want to bring myself to You and want to sing!
Make the black birds of despair fly away, my Redeemer,
And repair my inner-man once again on this new day;
I want to praise You! To bring myself to You and sing!
I want to praise You! To bring myself to You and sing!

This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it!
(Psalm 118. 24)

Note: Written from my own personal experience of waking up almost each and every morning feeling heavy of heart and sometimes even crying. . .  I don’t understand why, but this poem is my response.  Blessings to you!

4 thoughts on “In the Morning without Mourning

  1. Dear dornahainds, I have no idea what happened to your comment… I was responding to your very, very gracious words and then it all suddenly disappeared! I’m so sorry, BUT I am deeply grateful for your words of affirmation! Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

