Carry Me Along Where I Belong

There is a place far away, so close, some say;
To there we fly, we know not where, high in the day
On wings of faith that sings hearts of gold, spirits bold,
To the kingdom within, without; hearing what we’ve been told

Sweet Selene, holy Sister Irene,
Lift me up and carry me along where I belong

What is this kingdom so enchanting, so illusive?
Surely not the same game played since sun first spun?
No, no, though he spoke under veil of parables ne’er conclusive,
Has not our trust been won ere since the first radiant paschal dawn?

Sweet Selene, holy Sister Irene,
Lift me up and carry me along where I belong

Soft rolling hills of green, ever so serene,
And twisting silver streams that beam golden rays
Of happier days;
Flowers bloom with sweet perfume,
With myriad bees busy ‘neath new-ancient trees,
And blue skies above, soft clouds and gentle rains
That wash away all our pains;
Peace herein there is, enough to bring thanksgiving to her knees

Sweet Selene, holy Sister Irene,
Lift me up and carry me along where I belong;
For there is a place far away, so close, some say,
And I’ll nestle rest in your bosom till the dawn of that day



Note: First published in July 2015 on noblethemes: An Exploration of my Soul

Leave a Reply

