The One I Cannot Be

You wanted what I cannot give as long as I live:
Dreams and desires and the rich cream of life;
You wanted to be my wife and fairytale queen,
And I was not mean as I tried to wean you off,
But when I came clean you were heartbroken!
And now my heart, too, breaks into tiny parts;
But you wanted me to be the One who is One,
And I cannot take His place in the pace of life;
No, I cannot offer you the full Life He proffers,
Though you don’t understand, but the demand
Is just too high for me to reach and your speech
Sweetly given cannot enliven me to such a task!
You wanted what I cannot give as long as I live:
Dreams and desires and the rich cream of life. . .
But only the One who is Life can give you Life!
Wed yourself to Him first and burst with joy,
And then He will freely give all you need to live!

Leave a Reply

