Restoration: No Need for Desperation

All of my life I’d lived in fear,
Deferring to those so near and dear;
Not wanting to hurt or disappoint,
Hung my head, bending every joint.
Never did I trust and believe in me;
Shackled in chains I was never free;
Never free to be me and sail the sea
Of dreams under sun-golden beams
With glitter-gleams of so many streams
Of such possibility for me at liberty
From doubts and bouts of depression
Debilitating; what good rehabilitating
Might mean, if only I could stand
Without another’s brand on my hand.

Ah! But one right-strong came along,
And took my arm with smile, no harm;
He led me to redemption, no pretension,
As angels sang of the One who hung on
On the Tree to make me free, to weave
New tale to begin my new life, end all strife;
To stop my prostitution, dissolution,
And confusion, but raise me to new height
Above spirit-blight and wicked sight
Of those haunts who would hold me whore
Behind closed doors, where they abhor
My best with inflated chest, grotesque!
Ah! Now I soar, among stars adore
Who I am, will be; the world shall see!
All because of the One from Galilee!



Suicide Prevention Hotline: 800-273-8255
Veterans Suicide Hotline: 800-273-8255
Domestic Violence Hotline: 800-799-7233

Please Note:  Nothing in the above poem is meant to even intimate that there is no place for needed medication, counselling and therapy.  God works in many ways, by many means to help and to heal us.

2 thoughts on “Restoration: No Need for Desperation

Leave a Reply

