Darkened is the Way Ahead

Lord, the way ahead looks dim, the future grim,
And the day is clouded and shrouded in mystery,
And my heart heavy, like a levee about to break,
And I’m crying out to you, no longer lying down,
But now completely prostrate upon this ground
Begging to hear the sound of your strong voice,
So to make the right choice if choice I have now;
But life seems so stark and dark, and I am afraid,
And family and friends have turned their backs
For lack of common decency and fair goodwill,
Yet I hold them dear and ever so near my heart;
But what is my part now, Lord; what should I do?
What would you do? What am I able to do for you?
Now I cannot hold back the tears and all the fears!
. . .
Lord, the way ahead looks dim, the future grim,
And the day is clouded and shrouded in mystery . . .

Leave a Reply

