On Through the Darkness

Through valley after valley you have ever led me,
And down alleys dark and drear you’ve been near,
Remaining faithful always, and am I grateful
Or disgraceful ‘n wasteful of your constancy?
And here I stand at the mouth of some dark wood,
So stark and alarming as I hear the bark of wolves,
And I dare wonder if you will be with me now, too,
But you are so true that I blunder in my wondering
Because deep inside the keep of my heart I already
Know you will never leave nor forsake me . . . ever!
Why, then, fear when you are so near – beside me
And even inside of me – and you are to be feared
By the wolves as I hold you so dear and you me . . .
Thank you for saying, ‘Fear not; I am ever with you.’

Leave a Reply

